All winners of the 24th Edition

The main prize in the International Competition went to the film ONDES NOIRES by Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis from France. The International Jury praised the formally masterful, well constructed and visually impressive images, which captivate the audience and allow them to relive a synaesthetic experience due to their painterly digital discontinuity.

City councillor Dr. Thomas Burger was also awarded the Regensburg Prize to the film ONDES NOIRES by Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis from France. The Jury of the Young praised the combination of documentary and narrative-free elements, as well as the purely subjective descriptions. They draw attention, arouse interest and make people think.

The Candis Prize in the German Competition went to MANIVELLE – LAST DAYS OF THE MAN OF TOMORROW by Fadi Baki. The German Jury described the film as a wonderful heroic epic, describing a chapter of world history and inventing a unique and imaginative contemporary witness. The Max Bresele Memorial Award went to Mareike Bernien and Alex Gerbaulet for their film TIEFENSCHÄRFE. The German jury praised the astonishingly clever and analytically astutely composed pictures.

The top-class Architectural Jury found Ben Steiner’s film CLANKER MAN to be the best film with architectural reference. In the film, the English director expands the perception of urban space and subtly questions the clichés of the city in cinematic terms.

The FFF prize awarded by the FFF Jury went to the film AUFARBEITEN by Denise Riedmayr. In this discreet disaster film, the jury praised the break with many viewing habits, which touches one all the more, because it does not show the expected destructive images of a flood disaster in Simbach am Inn, but its aftermath.

The Window to the Region-Jury awarded the regional window prize to the film GAME by Marcus Siebler. The unconventional and creative camera work for a well told story convinced the jury in particular. She was convinced by the originality of the script and the film’s aesthetic realisation. The second prize was awarded to the film NACHBAR by Jannik Wittmann from the film group AAG Pictures. Here, too, the jury emphasized the camera work and the well-told story. The film ZUFLUCHT received a special mention from Laurin Kaiser for its high visual and emotional intensity and strong visual aesthetics.

The Cinema Pub Audience Award went to the film TIMECODE by Juanjo Giménez.

The detailed explanations of the jury’s decisions can be found here as a PDF file.

Translated with